Leadership Montana happenings: upcoming events, blog, newsletter


Stay up to date with Leadership Montana’s current events, blogs, and newsletters.


Join us in welcoming national leadership and business coach Colene Elridge to Billings for an in-person session of Lessons in Leadership on August 4th, Rebuilding Trust in the Community among Leaders and Organizations.

Coach Colene is a results-oriented success coach with nearly 15 years of experience in human resources, training, government, and entrepreneurship. She is respected for her passion to make workplaces better, happier, and more productive, “I’ve spent more than 10 years thinking about what makes work environments tick and how we can create extraordinary leaders and engaging workplaces,” says Colene. “I want to change the way people think about Life, Leadership, and Work through focused coaching, workshops, and training.”

WHEN: August 4, 2021
WHERE: Billings


The Confluence returns with two smaller, more intimate events for 2021. Join us in White Sulphur Springs this September to reconnect and learn alongside your fellow alumni as we explore challenges and opportunities facing Montana.

Come ready to sharpen your leadership skills, engage around issues facing our state, and deepening your connection to leaders from all corners of Montana. And of course, be prepared to have some good old fashioned FUN…it’s been awhile.

WHEN: September 22-24, 2021
WHERE: White Sulphur Springs   
COST: $175 – $200   


If you are interested in deepening your practice of Gracious Space and using those tools to teach this practice to others, we invite you to consider training to be a certified facilitator. We are bringing Gracious Space author and creator Patricia Hughes to provide that opportunity for our alumni.

Currently, more than 40 alumni of Leadership Montana have been certified as affiliate trainers and bring Gracious Space to their businesses, organizations, and communities through formal trainings and other informal practices.

WHEN: October 25-26
WHERE: Billings


Close out 2021 with our annual Men’s and Women’s Leadership Forums (formerly called “retreats”). For two days, lean into learning more about becoming your best leader with a small group of others doing the same. Enjoy the comfort of old friends and the excitement of making new connections as we together celebrate the year behind us and anticipate the year ahead.

The two groups will converge for an opportunity to learn and grow together as we navigate unique leadership challenges.

Space is limited and early registration is highly encouraged. The Women’s Forum is currently sold out and you can join the waiting list for any open spots.

WHEN: December 1-2, 2021
WHERE: Sage Lodge (Men) & Chico Hot Springs (Women)

COVID-19 and LMT

In March 2020, Montana and the world was hit with a global pandemic, COVID-19. In April, Montana government ordered all citizens to “Stay at Home” unless serving in an essential role in our health care system or other professional position. Businesses were closed across the state until we began a phased re-opening in May.

How Leadership Montana adapts amid COVID-19

Leadership Montana provides a critical service to community, civic, and business leaders. We connect leaders across the state and assist in collaborative efforts to strengthen Montana. We provide our robust and diverse network of leaders with resources and support as they individually respond to the challenges presented to us today.

Our services and programs have been interrupted during this time as in-person meetings and gatherings are restricted. In order to meet the needs of our constituents, we have pivoted to continuing providing our services through online formats. We continue to connect leaders across the state to provide vital support and resources for them to continue leading their communities and businesses during this time of uncertainty and crisis.

Our Response to COVID-19

Our COVID-19 response includes providing constituents across Montana with trainings and conversations on the following selection of topic areas through new programming called LMT Live:

  • Suicide Prevention
  • Crisis Communication
  • Federal Budget and Stimulus Opportunities
  • Human Trafficking Awareness
  • Ethical Leadership
  • Coping with Stress
  • Situational Leadership
  • Authentic Leadership
  • Dare to Lead Training
  • Coffee Connections
  • Intentional Civility
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Montana

Our Blog

Alumni in Action

July 5, 2017

Donna Erwin

July 5, 2017

Josh Vincent

July 5, 2017

Bruce Whittenberg

Classroom Reflection

Alumni Awards

Tom Scott Award for Excellence in Leadership

As Leadership Montana’s highest honor, this award is given by the Board of Governors to a person who has made substantial, significant, and lasting contributions to Leadership Montana. Current team members (board, staff, trainers) are not eligible for this award.


2021 – Lanny Hubbard
2020 – Brenda Peterson
2019 – Mike O’Neill
2018 – Chad Lippert
2017 – Bruce Whittenberg
2016 – Ron Sexton
2015 – Carol Donaldson
2014 – Tom Scott

Alumni Service Award

The Leadership Montana Alumni Service Award recognizes and promotes alumni service to support the Leadership Montana program and/or alumni activities. The award recognizes a Leadership Montana Alumnus who has used his or her leadership skills, knowledge, and resources to benefit Leadership Montana.


2021 – Eric Halverson
2020 – Jim Bliss
2019 – Inaugural Men’s Retreat Planning Committee
2018 – Heather Collins
2017 – John Carmody
2016 – Chad Lippert
2015 – Carmen McSpadden
2014 – Mike O’Neill

Barbara Braided Hair Alumni Leadership Award

The Leadership Montana Alumni Leadership Award recognizes and promotes community involvement. The award recognizes a Leadership Montana Alumnus who has had a significant impact at the local or state level, demonstrates outstanding leadership in keeping with and expanding the Leadership Montana philosophy in his or her community or the state, and serves as an example of leadership for others.


2021 – Marci McLean
2020 – Courtney McKee
2019 – Hatton Littman
2018 – Jen Hensley
2017 – Michael Sanderson
2016 – Eric Hyyppa
2015 – Duane Ankney
2014 – Barbara Braided Hair

Alumni Portal