Who we are: Leadership Montana is a leadership development program


Leadership Montana is the premier leadership development program and alumni organization in our state.

About Leadership Montana

Through our unique educational programming, we gather some of the most accomplished minds to deeply discuss current issues facing Montana. At the same time, participants enhance their own leadership skills through our curriculum, Leading in Montana, designed specifically around our class members’ interests and needs. 

Once participants complete the program, they join our esteemed alumni network consisting of the state’s most influential professionals. With an increased awareness and a commitment to service, our alumni shape Montana’s future with enhanced leadership skills and a deepened knowledge of the challenges and opportunities facing Montana.

Leadership Montana also provides training for the citizenry of our state through special programs and events like our annual signature event, The Confluence, and the Lessons in Leadership speakers series.

Our Mission

Leadership Montana exists to develop leaders committed to building a better Montana through knowledge, collaboration, and civility.

Our Leadership Team

Who We Are: Chantel

Chantel Schieffer


As the president/CEO, Chantel is the chief strategist and connector for Leadership Montana, the premier leadership development organization in our state. Over the past two decades, Chantel has built a career centered around building a better community for all of us.

As a lifelong Montanan, she is dedicated to ensuring that key stakeholders are working in collaboration to advance our treasured state. Her passion for community extends into her volunteer work, where she serves the Governor’s Commission on Community Service, Eagle Mount Bozeman, Women Leading Montana, Alpha Omicron Pi, and Montana Ambassadors.

For Chantel, her husband, Dax, and their son, Dax Michael, adventure is a family value. The trio can often be found playing outside or exploring a long, quiet Montana road.

Who We Are: Anna

Anna Berg

Program Manager

Anna serves as the program manager for Leadership Montana. This role has been a natural fit since day one. As a native Montanan, Anna has had a love and appreciation for this great state and her people for many years. Working with Leadership Montana allows Anna to collaborate with our staff, participants, board members, and professionals across the state to create a better Montana.

As the program manager, she helps to dream, create, and execute both the large and small details for our programs. If she says, “So, theoretically…” everyone knows that there may be a big idea in the works!

In her spare time, you’ll find Anna playing in the mountains, volunteering for local nonprofits, seeking out live music in hidden corners of the state, and creatively weaving people’s paths together.

A smiling woman with short hair wearing bright purple and pink earrings and a black shirt

Jennifer Davis

Alumni Relations Manager

Jen recently joined Leadership Montana to serve as Alumni Relations Manager. She is a proud alum of the Leadership Montana Class of 2009 and is excited to partner with the more than 500 Leadership Montana alumni across the state. She has left every interaction with Leadership Montana alumni inspired and hopeful for the future of our great state, and looks forward to harnessing that inspiration with alumni on a daily basis.

The Idaho-born, Carroll College graduate chose Montana as her home for the big skies, open spaces, friendly people and community. Her career has focused on building partnerships that benefit the greater community.

Jen, husband Tim, and son Cameron enjoy experiencing all of the outdoor seasons of Montana. Most weeks they can be found with friends enjoying a Montana adventure of skiing, fishing, boating, or mountain biking. When not in the mountains, they enjoy the state’s vibrant music, arts and cultural opportunities.

LM Board and Staff

Board of Governors

Amy Kellogg, Chair
Owner, Vassallo Foods, Inc.
Class of 2013

Laurence Hubbard, Vice Chair
President/CEO, Montana State Fund
Class of 2007

Brenda Peterson, Past Chair
President/CEO, The Wendt Agency
Class of 2008

Tom McGree, Treasurer
Chief Operating Officer, First Security Bank – Helena
Class of 2008

Barbara Braided-Hair
Branch Manager, First Interstate Bank
Class of 2005

Jamie Doggett
Owner, Camas Creek Cattle Company
Class of 2009

Rolf Groseth
Retired Chancellor, MSU Billings
Original Steering Committee

Rick Leuthold
Chairman, Sanderson Stewart
Class of 2010

Leslie Messer
Executive Director, Richland Economic Development Corp.
Class of 2008

Mike O’Neill
Director of Organizational Development & Labor Relations, NorthWestern Energy
Class of 2007

Marlenea Robinson
Health Service Operations Manager, Allegiance Benefit Plan Management, Inc.
Class of 2015

Scott Sehnert
Branch President, Rocky Mountain Bank
Class of 2016

Chris Warden
Vice President, Technology, Washington Corporations
Class of 2006

Alumni Portal