Stay up to date with Leadership Montana’s current events, blogs, and newsletters.


New President/CEO


Leadership Montana is proud to announce the hiring of our next President & CEO, Kelly Heaton of Red Lodge. Kelly joined the team on June 1. 

Read more about Kelly here and watch for opportunities to meet her soon.



South Central Community Event – Welcome Class of 2024 and Meet & Greet with CEO Kelly Heaton

Join the North Central Area Leadership Montana Community in Great Falls for a casual Meet & Greet with new CEO, Kelly Heaton.

WHEN: Wednesday, September 6, 2023, 5:00 – 7:00 PM 
Last Chance Pub & Cider Mill, Billings


The Confluence: Billings

Join us in Billings, MT for The Confluence: A Leadership Montana Signature event from September 25th – 26th.

WHEN: Monday, September 25, 2023, 12:00 PM – Tuesday, September 26, 2023, 12:00 PM  


LMT Live: A Conversation about Power & Energy Resources in Montana

Join us to learn and have a discussion about power and energy resources and those power blackouts you keep hearing about.

WHEN: Wednesday, October 16, 2023, 12:00 – 1:00 PM 


2023 Men’s Leadership Forum

The annual Men’s Leadership Forum returns November 30 – December 1, 2023, at Fairmont Hot Springs.

WHEN:  November 30 · 8:30 am – December 1 · 3:00 pm  
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, 1500 Fairmont Road, Anaconda, MT 59711



2023 Women’s Leadership Forum

The annual Women’s Leadership Forum returns November 30 – December 1, 2023 at Fairmont Hot Springs.

WHEN:  November 30 · 8:30 am – December 1 · 3:00 pm  
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, 1500 Fairmont Road, Anaconda, MT 59711


Gracious Space Mastery

If you are interested in:
• Deepening your practice of Gracious Space,
• teaching this practice to others,
• or using in a strategic way with your team,
we invite you to consider training to be a certified facilitator.

Patricia Hughes offers mastery trainings in Seattle and virtually every year. In-person trainings are two days long, virtual courses occur in 4 separate multi-hour sessions. Several deliverables are required to complete the certification.

If you are interested in this training, please complete this interest form.  For more information, please contact Hatton Littman at 406-600-6076 or hatton@leadershipmontana.org.

This training is available to alumni of the Leadership Montana Flagship programs.

Our Blog

March 31, 2022


January 31, 2022


Alumni Awards

Tom Scott Award for Excellence in Leadership

As Leadership Montana’s highest honor, this award is given by the Board of Governors to a person who has made substantial, significant, and lasting contributions to Leadership Montana. Current team members (board, staff, trainers) are not eligible for this award.


2023 – Chantel Schieffer
2023 – Dr. Gerald Evans
2022 – Amy Kellogg
2021 – Lanny Hubbard
2020 – Brenda Peterson
2019 – Mike O’Neill
2018 – Chad Lippert
2017 – Bruce Whittenberg
2016 – Ron Sexton
2015 – Mike Halligan
2014 – Carol Donaldson
2013 – Tom Scott

Mike O’Neill Alumni Service Award

The Leadership Montana Alumni Service Award recognizes and promotes alumni service to support the Leadership Montana program and/or alumni activities. The award recognizes a Leadership Montana Alumnus who has used his or her leadership skills, knowledge, and resources to benefit Leadership Montana.


2023 – Indigenous Immersion Initiative
2022 – Leslie Messer
2021 – Eric Halverson
2020 – Jim Bliss
2019 – Inaugural Men’s Retreat Planning Committee
2018 – Heather Collins
2017 – John Carmody
2016 – Chad Lippert
2015 – Carmen McSpadden
2014 – Mike O’Neill

Barbara Braided Hair Alumni Leadership Award

The Leadership Montana Alumni Leadership Award recognizes and promotes community involvement. The award recognizes a Leadership Montana Alumnus who has had a significant impact at the local or state level, demonstrates outstanding leadership in keeping with and expanding the Leadership Montana philosophy in his or her community or the state, and serves as an example of leadership for others.


2023 – Juanita Vero
2022 – Chuck Winn
2021 – Marci McLean
2020 – Courtney McKee
2019 – Hatton Littman
2018 – Jen Hensley
2017 – Michael Sanderson
2016 – Eric Hyyppa
2015 – Duane Ankney
2014 – Barbara Braided Hair